'Parenting our children safely through' talk by author Kim McCabe

Sunday, 14 June '20   10am - 11:30am
Zoom call
'Parenting our children safely through' talk by author Kim McCabe
Details

Scroll down to book your ticket ⬇︎

Join Kim McCabe, author of ‘From Daughter To Woman’ as she discusses practical ways to make the journey of growing-up safer, kinder and better supported, particularly through the adolescent years and especially in these changing times.

Do not miss this opportunity to reflect on your parenting and gain some tips to forge the kind of relationships you want with your children, even when things get tough.

In this seminar Kim will share with you what she has learned in her years of working with preteen and teen girls; and much of this applies to boys too. She will give you some easy-to-implement practical suggestions and will leave you with plenty of food for thought.

Kim has an optimistic view of parents' ability to guide our children through. These fickle and often frustrating young people can transform into the creators of an inspiring future. Teenagers are great people and, in spite of all the reports on how teens are running into serious difficulties, you can have a great time parenting one through this wonderful stage of life.

This talk is for everyone interested in steering their children happily through adolescence: parents of children age 8 – 18 years, flummoxed grandparents and caring aunties too, and anyone who works closely with pre-teens and teenagers. The talk lasts an hour followed by a twenty-minute question and answer session.

Best-selling author and psychologist Steve Biddulph says, “Kim is the creator of an extraordinary social advance. I hope this book gets as close to your heart as it did to mine. Kim’s work puts something back that should never have been taken away.”

“I found it all insightful, without any preachiness. I was reassured from the outset… Kim helped boost my confidence that I am doing a good job to help [my daughter].” Zoé, mother of preteen girl

“Important piece of work. I have never understood the pressures on my daughter until today. It gives me a lot of tools to be a better dad.” Jim, father of teen girl

FAQs

What time is this talk in my country?
London 10-11:30am, Moscow 12-1:30pm, Hong Kong, Bali and Perth 5-6:30pm, Adelaide 6:30-8pm, Sydney 7-8:30pm, Auckland 9-10:30pm

Are there minimum age requirements to enter the event?
This seminar is suitable for adults.

Is the talk for Dad’s too?
Dads are welcome and encouraged. Kim talks about the importance of fathers as well as mothers.

What if I’m not a parent?
Please come, children benefit hugely from the attention of adults who aren’t parents. Teachers, youth workers, godparents, ‘aunties’ all have a powerful part to play in guiding our next generation.

My daughter is only 5, is this talk still for me?
Parents say that they no longer dread the teens years after hearing Kim speak and they feel better prepared. They come away with tools they can put into immediate use whatever their child’s age.

I’ve got sons, can I still come along?
Absolutely, much of what Kim talks about applies to boys as well as girls

Do you have a newsletter?
Yes and you will automatically receive the occasional Rites for Girls newsletter by booking your ticket unless you ask otherwise.

Will a recording of this talk be available afterwards?
No, this is a live event. Another will be organised, so sign up to our newsletter.
http://eepurl.com/c6JaHL
How can I contact the organizer with questions?
For more information about Rites for Girls, Kim McCabe and her book, please visit www.ritesforgirls.com or email info@ritesforgirls.com

Kim is founder and director of Rites for Girls CIC providing tools for guiding girls and supporting parents and training women in this pioneering work. She has worked with teenagers and young people for over 25 years and has 3 nearly-grown children of her own.

Instructions

You will receive a request for you to register with Zoom. Please do this well in advance so that you can be given the link and password for Kim's talk.

Tickets

Cost
Talk ticket
£9.00
Online event information

This is an online event.

Joining instructions will be provided after booking.

Zoom call